Mixed Bean Chilli

Chilli Con Carne is one of my favourite dinners. It’s one of the first meals I ever learnt to cook. Aldi have just expanded their range of tinned beans, so I wanted to use them in a new recipe. I really wasn’t sure about substituting the beef for beans. We don’t eat much red meat, but what we do eat – I love!

I am eating a bowl of this right now, shovelling great mouthfuls between sentences – it’s absolutely delicious. I am genuinely surprised that a veggie meal consisting of mainly beans could be so….well……meaty!

I had all of the ingredients in the pan in just over 5 minutes and 20 minutes after that it was cooked! I think even die hard meat lovers (like my husband!) would like this one. If you’re thinking of giving “Meat Free Monday” a go, this is a great place to start. A cheap, healthy, quick, crowd-pleaser, with left overs for lunch the next day!

Enjoy x

IMG_2109.JPG

Feeds 4 with leftovers

  • 400g tin mixed beans (drained)
  • 400g tin butter beans (drained)
  • 400g tin kidney beans (drained)
  • 2 x 500g tubs of passata
  • 1 onion
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • drizzle of olive oil
  • 2 tsp chilli powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp sugar
  1. Finely slice the onion and garlic and place in a large non-stick frying pan with a drizzle of olive oil. Fry for 5 minutes until soft.
  2. Add the chilli, cumin, sugar and all of the drained beans and fry for a further 2 minutes. Stir regularly so that it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan.
  3. Add the passata. Stir and simmer for 20 minutes uncovered, until the beans are tender and the sauce has reduced. Serve with rice or jacket potato with a few torn up coriander leaves.

IMG_2122.JPG